The Warrior’s A grade team has made an early statement in the new Horsham Cricket Association season with a solid win over the reigning One-Day premiers, Homers.

Not to be outdone, the C grade team also registered a comfortable win in their first game for the season, against Lubeck-Murtoa.

Hosting the team that has set the benchmark in the A grade for the last decade, the Warriors took the opportunity to bat when Mitch Dahlenburg won the toss, and the team got off to a quick start with Nathan Alexander contributing 30 to the opening stand of 35.

The second wicket took the total to 99 before Austin Smith was dismissed for 28 and one run later Dahlenburg fell for an innings high of 41.

The team struggled to maintain the early momentum, but thanks to an unbeaten inning of 30 by Trevor Polkinghorne the team had made 153 when the last wicket fell in the penultimate over.

The Homers made a solid start to their innings, but an early wicket to each of the Warrior’s opening bowlers, Alexander and Josh Lees, reduced them to 2 for 15.

A fifty run third-wicket partnership, and another of 48 for the fourth wicket kept Homers in the game, but when the last six wickets fell for just 14 runs, they were left 26 short of victory.

Alexander was the best of the bowlers with four wickets, and Lees and Henry Smith took two each.

Next week the team will travel to Coughlin Park in Horsham to take on the Saints who started their season with a 44 run loss to Rupanyup-Minyip.

C Grade

The C grade Warriors continued the form from last season that saw them win the 2019/20 Twenty20 premiership when they defeated the home team on the Lubeck recreation reserve oval.

New team captain Jack Crowhurst won the toss and chose to set a target and in a steady innings with several contributors, they finished their 20 overs with a defendable score of 109 for the loss of 6 wickets.

The innings’ top score came off the bat of Lochlyn Hahne who made 28, and he had valuable assistance from Xavier Bone with 22, Alias Danaha 15, and Crowhurst 14. The biggest partnership was 41 for the fifth wicket between Bone and Danaha.

There was not much resistance from the Mudlark’s batsmen with only three double-figure scorers, but four ‘ducks’ in their total of 9 for 68 off their 20 overs, well short of their target.

The best of the Warrior’s bowlers was Brodie Foster who took two wickets for two runs off two overs, closely followed by opening bowler Ruby James who, after conceding five runs off her first over, followed this up with two wicket maidens to finish with 2 for 5 off three overs. Danaha and Hahne also both took two wickets each and Bone took the other to fall.

This is a solid start to the season for a relatively young team that features several new players to the club, that will travel to the Noradjuha Recreation Reserve to take on the Noradjuha Toolondo Bullants next week.

Horsham Cricket Association - A Grade - Round 1

West Wimmera Warriors won by 26 runs

West Wimmera Warriors

N Alexander b. M Bandara   30
M Dahlemburg   run out 41
A Smith b. C Gamage28
J Leeslbwb. M Bandara0
T Braendlerct. Koenigb. M Bandara3
L Prestonct. Gamage   b. A Atwood6
T Polkinghornenot out 30
H Smithct. Koenigb. C Brtitten2
L Smithct. P Millsb. A Atwood3
J Gurryct. &b. C Gamage3
A Merrettct. Gamageb. L Deutscher4
Sundries  4

Homers Bowling

     O    M    R    W
C Britten   81421
M Bandara80363
J Officer60220
C Gamage   82232
A Atwood81232
L Deutscher1051


A Atwoodct. J Leesb. N Alexander5
P Mills b. J Lees9
C Gamagect. T Polkinghorne   b. H Smith22
L Deutscherct. M Dahlenburgb. A Smith27
C Brittenct. & b. H Smith39
N Keonigct. H Smithb. N Alexander18
J Hopperct. M Dahlenburgb. A Merrett   0
M Bandara b. N Alexander3
M Williamson   ct. N Alexanderb. J Lees0
P Millsnot out&nbps;1
J Officer b. N Alexander0
Sundries  3

West Wimmera Warriors Bowling

     O    M    R    W
J Lees72142
N Alexander7484
A Smith82221
T Breandler40270
H Smith80472
A Merrett4181

Horsham Cricket Association - C Grade - Round 1

West Wimmera Warriors won by 41 runs

West Wimmera Warriors

J Crowhurst    b. P Yew14
D Bullen b. CR Newell8
A Danahact. ?b. C Hatcher15
X Bonenot out 22
C Cardwellct. D Ballantine   b. DO Schultz1
L Hahnect. D Ballantineb. DT Campbell  28
J Hardingrun out 0
T Mitchellnot ouot 0
Sundries  21
TOTAL 6 for 109

Lubeck-Murtoa Bowling

     O    M    R    W
DT Campbell3121
O Garth-Lindsay  30170
D Schultz30260
D Anderson2060
CR Newell3261
P Yew20191
DO Schultz2091
C Hatcher20161


D Ballantinect. J Hardingb. A Danaha  11
? b. R James0
P Yewct. T Mitchell   b. A Danaha0
C Hatcherct. L Hahneb. R James0
O Garth-Lindsay    b. X Bone5
J Weyburglbwb. L Hahne4
C Newellct. & b. B Foster1
D Schultznot out 21
D Andersonct. C Cardwellb. B Foster10
DT Campbellct. & b. L Hahne0
DO Schultznot out 0
Sundries  16
TOTAL 9 for 68

West Wimmera Warriors Bowling

     O    M    R    W
R James3252
A Danaha30112
L Hahne30172
X Bone3171
B Foster2032
C Cardwell  1060
D Bullen2060
J Crowhurst30110